Skip to main content
Spotify for Podcasters
From the Proscenium

From the Proscenium

By Proscenia Film Society

The official podcast of the Proscenia Film Society - transforming the lives of creators and audiences through the communal experience of films.

Full length episodes come out every other Friday. Quick Cuts - short episodes discussing one movie or topic come out every other Wednesday. Ensuring you get fresh content from us once a week.
Available on
Apple Podcasts Logo
Google Podcasts Logo
Overcast Logo
Pocket Casts Logo
RadioPublic Logo
Spotify Logo
Stitcher Logo
Currently playing episode

From The Proscenium Quick Cuts - Captain Marvel Review

From the ProsceniumApr 03, 2019

00:00
40:58
From the Proscenium - Interview with Peter Tompkins and Rusty Harden
May 11, 202101:10:21
They Always Come Back - End of Season 1

They Always Come Back - End of Season 1

On episode 26, Tim and Dustin recap season 1 of From The Proscenium podcast. They are taking a few weeks break between season 1 and season 2, but before their break they sit down and have a casual conversation about movies, season 1, and their ideas for season 2. What were some of your highlights from season 1? If you have any questions or suggestions for season 2, email Tim and Dustin at podcast@prosceniafilmsociety.org and/or connect with them on facebook (Proscenia Film Society) and as @ProsceniaFilm on Instagram (Tim) and Twitter (Dustin). While the podcast is on summer break, they are still active on social media and their blog (www.prosceniafilmsociety.com) and showing movies in Troy, OH and the Dayton, OH area. If you'd like them to visit your town or theater, email them and get them scheduled!

Jul 21, 201958:51
From The Proscenium Interview with film maker Henrique Couto

From The Proscenium Interview with film maker Henrique Couto

We sit down with local independent film maker Henrique Couto. Henrique is a writer, producer, director, actor, and much much more. He offers his experience with hustling to not only get movies made, but getting them seen. Henrique's current movie, Haunting Inside, recently had its world premiere and is screening the movie for only the second time at the Mayflower Arts Center in Troy, OH. Henrique will be at the screening and there's a strong possibility some of the cast and crew will be there as well. You can follow Henrique online. Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/user/doomboy5 Instagram, Twitter, and Facebook as Henrique Couto. If you are movie watcher, you'll enjoy his discussion of his movies. If you're a film maker, you'll learn how someone is out there in today's market getting movies made and seen. If you have comments or questions about the podcast, email us at podcast@prosceniafilmsociety.org. We are also on Facebook as Proscenia Film Society, and on Twitter (Dustin) and Instagram (Tim) as @ProsceniaFilm. Make it a point to be at the Mayflower Arts Center, July 13, 2019, to meet Henrique and watch his latest movie. 

Jul 10, 201901:40:43
FTP Quick Cuts Midsommar
Jul 09, 201926:27
FTP Quick Cuts Avengers Endgame with Michigan Mike

FTP Quick Cuts Avengers Endgame with Michigan Mike

Recently Tim went to go see Avengers: Endgame with Michigan Mike and Greg. All three of us had seen the movie when it first came out and decided we wanted to watch it a second time. Tim interviewed Michigan Mike shortly after Michigan Mike saw the movie the first time and then again after watching it the second time. This episode is the interview after the second screening. Listen in as Michigan Mike talks about how he feels about the movie after seeing it a second time and our discussion of the extended version now playing in theaters.

Dustin wasn't available for this episode but will be back in the next episodes.

If you have questions or comments about this episode or our podcast in general, email us at podcast@prosceniafilmsociety.org. You can also join us on facebook at Proscenia Film Society and on Instagram and Twitter as @ProsceniaFilm.

Jul 06, 201919:13
From The Proscenium - Overs and Unders

From The Proscenium - Overs and Unders

From The Proscenium podcast (S1E23). Tim and Dustin discuss their underrated and overrated movies. They start out discussing the anniversary of the moon landing and Dustin's opinion of Astronaut Ice Cream, board games, the new Harry Potter : Wizards Unite augmented reality game, and Tim forgets to give a shout out to unyolo_movie_blog's The Dead Don't Die review on Instagram. Then the gloves come off and they discuss their under and over movies. The topic isn't as simple as it seems and they find one category easier to agree on than the other. Do you agree with their selections? Email your comments and opinions to us at podcast@prosceniafilmsociety.org or share them on Facebook, @prosceniafilm on Instagram (Tim), or @proscenafilm on Twitter (Dustin).

Jun 26, 201901:20:51
FTP Quick Cuts The Dead Don't Dream

FTP Quick Cuts The Dead Don't Dream

For this week's Quick Cuts, Dustin continues his Forgotten Films series with a review of Field of Dreams and Tim reviews The Dead Don't Die (spoiler free). We are changing things up a little bit this week by writing our reviews on our blog instead of recording a podcast to review and discuss them.

You can find the blog posts on our website, http://www.ProsceniaFilmSociety.org under the blog tab.

If you have comments or questions, feel free to email us at podcast@prosceniafilmsociety.org or contact us on our Facebook page or as @ProsceniaFilm on Instagram (Tim) and Twitter (Dustin).


Jun 19, 201901:10
Quick Cuts Jurassic Scream

Quick Cuts Jurassic Scream

We add introduction music and have no jarring static in this episode. Proscenia Film Society and Mayflower Arts Center in Troy, OH, are showing a double bill this weekend (June 15) of Jurassic Park and then Scream (introducing our Late Night Fright Fest series.) Dustin and Tim review and discuss the impact these movies still have on popular culture 20+ years after they came out. Dustin discusses his new blog series "Forgotten Film", available on our prosceniafilmsociety.org website. And we discuss upcoming movies in the theaters we have no plans to see. Questions or comments are always welcome at podcast@prosceniafilmsociety.org, Proscenia Film Society on Facebook, and @prosceniafilm on Instagram (Tim) and Twitter (Dustin).

Jun 12, 201949:08
From The Proscenium Star Wars World Part 1

From The Proscenium Star Wars World Part 1

After hearing about the opening of Star Wars: Galaxy's Edge at Disneyland, Dustin contemplates the impact Star Wars has had on films and society. Tim and Dustin blend the banter between Star Wars: Galaxy's Edge, Episode 4, theme parks, Star Wars fanboydom, speculation on the future of movies in theaters, and the technical and social impacts of Lucas' creation on the world. Tim learns about Force Relics. Dustin starts to pick a side in his on-going self debate on Lucas - Film Genius or Villain? Dustin - "Star Wars changed the entire way we digest films in general."

Questions or comments? podcast@prosceniafilmsociety.org. You can also contact us as @ProsceniaFilm on Instagram (Tim) and Twitter (Dustin).


Jun 07, 201902:08:42
Quick Cuts - Annihilation (2018)

Quick Cuts - Annihilation (2018)

Based on a twitter request from Devin, Tim and Dustin watch and review the 2018 movie Annihilation. They both watched it for the first time the day before they sat down and recorded their thoughts and discussion of the movie. True to the tagline of "the podcast about film making and movie watching" Tim and Dustin unintentionally each take one of those tracks. Do you agree with our thoughts or were we missing some key points? Let us know. podcast@prosceniafilmsociety.org or @prosceniafilm on Instagram (Tim) and Twitter (Dustin). If you have a movie you'd like to hear us discuss and banter, let us know. Tim - "If you're scientists, science!" Dustin - "It's smarter than Avengers." 

Jun 05, 201932:10
Quick Cuts Star Wars Episode 1 The Phantom Menace

Quick Cuts Star Wars Episode 1 The Phantom Menace

On May 19, 1999, the world welcomed the long-awaited release of the introduction trilogy of the Star Wars story. That day changed how we viewed the Star Wars universe. For this anniversary review, Tim watched SW:TPM for the first time in 20 years. Dustin hasn't seen it since that fateful day in 1999 and wants to know Tim's thoughts. They review the movie and its impact on the film industry. The night after watching SW:TPM, Tim watched Solo: A Star Wars Story for the first time and does some comparisons between the two movies. Tim develops his 'blundering to success' character analysis after listening to some of the director's commentary from SW:TPM. The blundering to success  expands from JarJar Binks and young Anakin Skywalker to Captain Jack Sparrow, John McClane, Indiana Jones, and Kevin McCallister. And Dustin argues with himself about George Lucas. Questions or comments? Email us at podcast@prosceniafilmsociety.org. We are also @prosceniafilm on Instagram (Tim) and Twitter (Dustin).

May 29, 201954:40
From The Proscenium That Thing Kubrick Did

From The Proscenium That Thing Kubrick Did

Dustin challenges Tim to watch That Thing You Do. The freeform discussion leads us through upcoming movies and Dustin's Stanley Kubrick workshop, how Dustin learned to love horror movies, John Waters, Spielberg movies, and Stanley Kubrick. We wrap up with movie trivia questions. If you have any comments, email us at podcast@prosceniafilmsociety.org or via @prosceniafilm on Twitter (Dustin) and Instagram (Tim).

 

May 17, 201901:18:46
From The Proscenium Quick Cuts The Blackcoat's Daughter

From The Proscenium Quick Cuts The Blackcoat's Daughter

This week's Quick Cuts review is the Horror (Dustin rates this one a Capital-H horror) movie The Blackcoat's Daughter. Tim hasn't seen the movie. Dustin has watched it once and liked it so much we're doing a review of it. The first part is spoiler free. There is a warning when we transition to spoilers. If you have any questions or comments, feel free to email us at podcast@prosceniafilmsociety.org or contact us on Twitter (Dustin) or Instagram (Tim) using @prosceniafilm. 

May 15, 201929:54
From The Proscenium Avengers: Endgame Part 2

From The Proscenium Avengers: Endgame Part 2

Picking up where we left off in part 1, Tim, Dustin, and Mike continue their discussion of Avengers: Endgame. The conversation leads them to trailers, how subculture movements become mainstream culture, and somehow end up discussing Titanic.  

May 02, 201901:08:48
From The Proscenium SPOILERS Avengers: Endgame Part 1

From The Proscenium SPOILERS Avengers: Endgame Part 1

Avengers: Endgame is out and the From The Proscenium crew went to go see it. Many of our original plans ran into problems and we ended up bantering for over 2 hours about the movie and film culture after watching it. This episode and part 2 contains SPOILERS. If you aren't ready for spoilers, queue part 1 and part 2 up for listening after you've seen the movie. We are joined in the studio with our special guest Mike. Mike is a frequent Proscenia Film Society movie-going guest and is a friend of the From The Proscenium crew. Enjoy this first episode, containing SPOILERS, of our discussion of the movie Avengers: Endgame - including our pre-viewing thoughts and grades.

May 01, 201939:16
From The Proscenium Bourbon Chat

From The Proscenium Bourbon Chat

With no specific theme for the episode, Tim and Dustin sip some bourbon (or rye in this case) and have general banter. We discuss if Deliverance (which we are co-hosting a screening of on Saturday, May 4, 2019, at the Mayflower Arts Center in Troy, Ohio) is a horror/thriller or action movie, we improvise the creation of a series of horror movies which get spawned into haunted mazes to be franchised across the globe, we discuss the National Lampoon Vacation series of movies, and we improvise the creation of the Proscenia Film Society's Theory of Subjective Film Relativity. Join us for some rye-fueled banter and send us your suggestions of movies that would pair well with bourbon and what movies you classify in your personal Theory of Subjective Film Relativity. podcast@prosceniafilmsociety.org or @prosceniafilm on Instagram and Twitter.


Apr 26, 201901:15:14
From The Proscenium Quick Cuts Love, Death, & Robots

From The Proscenium Quick Cuts Love, Death, & Robots

In this Quick Cuts episode, Tim and Dustin discuss the Netflix series, Love, Death, & Robots. Using Scott Meslow's Vulture article ranking the episodes as a starting point, we talk about our favorite episodes, overall likes and dislikes, and ideas for how else they can showcase this style of storytelling.  

Apr 24, 201932:15
From The Proscenium Quick Cuts 2019 Trailers Review

From The Proscenium Quick Cuts 2019 Trailers Review

In this episode, Tim and Dustin watch trailers for some of this year's top movies.

The trailers include "Star Wars Episode 9: The Rise of Skywalker", "Joker", "Avengers: Endgame", and "Midsommar". 

Settle in with us on this episode, queue up the trailers, and watch along as you listen to us respond to them. After each trailer we discuss our expectations and thoughts about the movie and give a 'will go see it' rating.

If you have comments or questions about the episode or the podcast in general, contact us on instagram or twitter @prosceniafilm or email us at podcast@prosceniafilmsociety.org. 



Apr 17, 201938:09
From The Proscenium Blockbusters

From The Proscenium Blockbusters

Tim and Dustin discuss the history and future of blockbuster movies. Dustin rapid fires movie trivia at Tim.



Apr 12, 201901:20:52
From The Proscenium Quick Cuts Pet Sematary

From The Proscenium Quick Cuts Pet Sematary

In this week's Quick Cuts, Dustin and Tim review the 2019 version of Pet Sematary. Tim surprises Dustin by having watched the movie. Tim has not read the book, has not seen the 1989 version, and has seen the trailer for the 2019 version. The first part of the podcast is spoiler-free. After ample warning, they move into spoilers. Both parts include ample direction-shifting banter for those of you who enjoy their free-range discussions.

Apr 10, 201942:48
From The Proscenium Quick Cuts - Captain Marvel Review

From The Proscenium Quick Cuts - Captain Marvel Review

From The Proscenium Quick Cuts Captain Marvel movie review. Tim reviews the confusing Captain Marvel movie causing Dustin and Tim to discuss their thoughts on what is going on with Marvel and super hero movies in general. At 40 minutes, it's not exactly a Quick Cuts but covering super hero and Marvel movies at this point is no quick task.

Apr 03, 201940:58
From The Proscenium Interview with Greg Sestero

From The Proscenium Interview with Greg Sestero

Dustin and Tim interview best-selling author, actor, writer, and producer Greg Sestero. Greg was in town hosting a screening of his movie Best F(r)iends Volume 1, costarring  Tommy Wiseau, at the Mayflower Arts Center in Troy, Ohio.

Greg kindly sat down with us for an interview.

We talk with Greg about The Room, The Disaster Artist (the book and the movie), Best F(r)iends Volume 1 and 2, horror movies, what Greg is currently working on, his experiences in making studio and independent films, and advice for today's actors, filmmakers, and screenwriters .

Greg also answers Dustin's Rapid Fire questions in section 3.


Apr 01, 201942:13
From The Proscenium Disney Animation Part 2

From The Proscenium Disney Animation Part 2

Tim and Dustin start off by talking about their Spring Break trips (Tim to New York City, Dustin to Colorado) and then continue their conversation about Disney animation. Just like in part 1, they map what was going on in the Walt Disney Company's animated movies along with what was going on in the company, animation in general, Hollywood, and society. And just like in part 1, they stray a bit off topic.

The recording was a late night one after they both had a long day and Tim suffers from several bouts of his mouth not fact-checking things with his brain before he talks. It wasn't intended to be a quiz of 'catch Tim's mess ups' but feel free to remind him of the things he didn't get quite right. (:



Mar 29, 201901:42:56
From The Proscenium Quick Cuts - Us

From The Proscenium Quick Cuts - Us

In this Quick Cuts episode, Dustin reviews the recent horror movie Us. Mostly spoiler-free.

Tim hasn't seen the movie yet, so he asks Dustin questions about the movie to help determine if he wants to see it.

Mar 27, 201914:27
From The Proscenium Quick Cuts Chitty Chitty Bang Bang

From The Proscenium Quick Cuts Chitty Chitty Bang Bang

Tim is solo for this Quick Cut episode. 


He talks about one of his favorite movies, Chitty Chitty Bang Bang, and how difficult it is to discuss and explain why you like a movie or song that is personal.

Mar 20, 201905:08
From The Proscenium Disney Animation Part 1

From The Proscenium Disney Animation Part 1

Tim and Dustin discuss Proscenia Film Society news and updates, we delve into part 1 of our discussion of Disney animation with references to what was going on in Hollywood during the 1920s-1980s for perspective, and Tim tosses some rapid fire questions at Dustin including his idea for adapting a book into a movie.

Mar 15, 201901:27:25
From The Proscenium Quick Cuts - Suspiria 2018
Mar 07, 201907:02
S1E1 From the Proscenium - Introductions, misc movie talk, and rapid fire

S1E1 From the Proscenium - Introductions, misc movie talk, and rapid fire

It's our first podcast! We introduce ourselves and our movie likes. Dustin challenges Tim with rapid fire questions.

Mar 01, 201901:15:42