Skip to main content
Spotify for Podcasters
Theology for the People

Theology for the People

By Nick Cady

Addressing the intersection of theology and culture with Nick Cady, pastor of White Fields Community Church in Longmont, Colorado
Available on
Apple Podcasts Logo
Google Podcasts Logo
Pocket Casts Logo
RadioPublic Logo
Spotify Logo
Currently playing episode

Writing Update & Announcement: Audiobook Preview & Upcoming Book Releases

Theology for the PeopleFeb 09, 2023

00:00
27:47
Applied Theology: Ministering to Victims of Human Trafficking in Budapest, Hungary - The Theological Foundations of "Mercy Ministry"

Applied Theology: Ministering to Victims of Human Trafficking in Budapest, Hungary - The Theological Foundations of "Mercy Ministry"

László (Laci) is a pastor in Budapest, Hungary. In addition to pastoring a local church, he leads a ministry which helps those caught in human trafficking to escape prostitution and experience lasting freedom.  The south side of Budapest, where Laci ministers, is a working class area, known for high levels of crime and prostitution. In this episode, we discuss the theological foundations for "mercy ministries" and how Laci got involved in practical ministry to the poor and oppressed.  For more information, visit: Servants Anonymous Foundation
Mar 16, 202338:38
Wealthy & Whole - with Jeff Gipe

Wealthy & Whole - with Jeff Gipe

What does the Bible say about wealth? Why is it that so many wealthy people are not "whole" - and what is the solution? Jeff Gipe is a pastor in Franklin, Tennessee. He was a successful businessman in Southern California, who left the business world to plant a church in the area where he lived, which happened to be one of the most affluent communities in the world.  He is a graduate of Western Seminary, and has put in a lot of work theologically and practically into thinking biblically about the topic of money and how it relates to God's vision for human flourishing. Visit the Theology for the People blog at nickcady.org, where you can read articles and suggest topics for future episodes.
Mar 09, 202344:45
Business as Mission - with Steven and Teresa Yeats, Missionaries in Moldova

Business as Mission - with Steven and Teresa Yeats, Missionaries in Moldova

Steven and Teresa Yeats have been missionaries in Eastern Europe for many years. They currently live in Chisinau, Moldova. Steven is a pastor and a church planter, but a few years ago he started a business in Moldova, and in this episode he talks about the spirituality of money and the reasons for considering doing business as a form of mission. We talk about sustainable church planting and unique needs that exist in the developing (majority) world. Additionally, Steven and Teresa share about how the war in Ukraine has affected their lives and their ministry in Moldova. Finally, they share how we can be praying for their ministry and the church in Moldova. Make sure to check out the Theology for the People blog at nickcady.org
Mar 02, 202352:25
The Subversive Power of the Lord's Prayer

The Subversive Power of the Lord's Prayer

Dan Marotta is the founding Rector of Redeemer Anglican Church in Richmond, Virginia, and the author of Liturgy in the Wilderness: How the Lord's Prayer Shapes the Imagination of the Church in a Secular Age. In this episode, we discuss the topic of prayer and the Lord's Prayer specifically.  The Lord’s Prayer is a beautiful, subversive passage of words given to the church by Jesus. It forms our imaginations and—given time—transforms us. Dan explains how what you pray shapes what you believe, which in turn shapes how you live. Visit the Theology for the People blog at nickcady.org, where you can read articles and suggest topics for future episodes.
Feb 23, 202344:12
Ministering in Ukraine During the War: How God is Working & How to Pray

Ministering in Ukraine During the War: How God is Working & How to Pray

Benjamin Morrison is a missionary in Ukraine and the pastor of Calvary Chapel Svitlovodsk in Central Ukraine. Ben is also a leader with City to City in Europe and Ukraine. To support Ben and the ministry he is doing, visit bit.ly/give2ukraine Visit the Theology for the People blog at nickcady.org to read articles, suggest topics, or ask questions.
Feb 16, 202345:12
Writing Update & Announcement: Audiobook Preview & Upcoming Book Releases

Writing Update & Announcement: Audiobook Preview & Upcoming Book Releases

Curt Fuller is the Technical Director at White Fields Community Church in Longmont, Colorado. Additionally, Curt is Nick's writing partner; he was the editor of Nick's first book: The God I Won't Believe In: Facing Nine Common Barriers to Embracing Christianity The audiobook version of that book was published on February 1, 2023. In this episode, you can hear a preview of that book, and we discuss other projects currently in the works. To read the Theology for the People blog, or to suggest a topic or ask a question, visit: nickcady.org
Feb 09, 202327:47
How Long, O Lord? - The Biblical Genre of Lament and Its Role in Our Lives Today

How Long, O Lord? - The Biblical Genre of Lament and Its Role in Our Lives Today

Welcome to Season 3 of Theology for the People! Michael Payne is the Worship Pastor at White Fields Community Church in Longmont, Colorado. Previously he served as a missionary and worship pastor in Hungary at Golgota Budapest. Prior to that, he served in the US Marine Corps. Listen to Mike's original music on Spotify here, or see him in action on the White Fields Church YouTube page. The books Mike recommends in this episode on the topic of the biblical genre of lament are: Michael Card, A Sacred Sorrow: Reaching Out to God in the Lost Language of Lament Mark Vroegop - Dark Clouds, Deep Mercy Walter Brueggemann - The Message of the Psalms For the Theology for the People blog, or to submit a question or suggest a topic, visit nickcady.org
Feb 02, 202350:04
Was It Necessary for Our Salvation that Jesus be God?

Was It Necessary for Our Salvation that Jesus be God?

This episode is also available as a blog post: http://nickcady.org/2018/12/06/was-it-necessary-for-our-salvation-that-jesus-be-god/
Dec 23, 202206:32
Liturgy: Going Through the (Right) Motions

Liturgy: Going Through the (Right) Motions

Aaron Damiani is a pastor and the author of the book: Earth Filled with Heaven — Finding Life in Liturgy, Sacraments and other Ancient Practices of the Church. In this episode, Aaron and I discuss some of the practices that Christians have traditionally done in their worship services, and how Christians today can benefit from incorporating some of those formative practices. Additionally, we discussion some of the pitfalls or potential downsides of a liturgical approach to worship and discipleship, and some ways that High Church and Low Church Protestants can learn from each other in order to create an intentional order or service which helps develop healthy disciples of Jesus. If you benefited from this episode, please share it with others, and if you would like to help the podcast, the best way to do that is by leaving a rating or review on your podcast app.
Nov 03, 202240:45
How is Gluttony a Danger to Your Soul?

How is Gluttony a Danger to Your Soul?

Gluttony is one of the "Seven Deadly Sins" - but why is gluttony a sin? And what constitutes gluttony? Is calling gluttony a sin actually a form of "fat-shaming" - or it is actually a danger to your soul? In this episode I speak with Mike Neglia about the origin of the Seven Deadly Sins and what the Bible has to say about gluttony.  Mike is the Lead Pastor of Calvary Cork in Cork, Ireland. He is also the leader of Expositors Collective, and the host of the Expositors Collective Podcast. For more articles and content, visit the Theology for the People blog at nickcady.org
Oct 27, 202238:38
How is the Mission of God Progressing in the Midst of the War in Ukraine?

How is the Mission of God Progressing in the Midst of the War in Ukraine?

In this episode, Michael Payne and Nick Cady speak with George and Sharon Markey, missionaries in Ukraine. George tells the story of how his family moved to Ukraine in 1992, and Sharon tells her story of meeting George and joining him on the mission field. They talk about their family's experience in evacuating from Ukraine when the war began and how they are continuing to reach out with the love of Jesus to the Ukrainian people, and how the mission of God is progressing even in the midst of the current calamity. Check out George and Sharon's new website, mentioned in the episode: BridgeUA.org This episode was originally recorded for the White Fields Community Church YouTube channel. Please visit and subscribe to that, and you can visit the Theology for the People blog at nickcady.org
Jun 16, 202240:22
What is Over-Realized Eschatology?

What is Over-Realized Eschatology?

This episode is also available as a blog post: http://nickcady.org/2017/06/28/what-is-over-realized-eschatology/
Jun 09, 202206:55
Are Christian Sexual Ethics Harmful or Helpful? Was "Purity Culture" a Mistake? - with Dean Inserra

Are Christian Sexual Ethics Harmful or Helpful? Was "Purity Culture" a Mistake? - with Dean Inserra

Dean Inserra is the author of the book, Pure: Why the Bible's Plan for Sexuality Isn't Outdated, Irrelevant, or Oppressive. In this episode, we talk about "purity culture" and whether the recent pushback against it is warranted. We also discuss biblical sexual ethics and Dean gives advice for people in different life situations in regard to marriage, singleness, and dating. Dean is the founding and lead pastor of City Church in Tallahassee, Florida. He is a graduate of Liberty University and holds a MA in Theological Studies from Midwestern Baptist Theological Seminary. He is currently pursuing a D.Min from Southern Seminary. Dean is an advisory member of the Ethics and Religious Liberty Commission's Leadership Council with the Southern Baptist Convention and is a member of Baptist 21. For more information about the Calvary Chapel / CGN international conference June 26-29, 2022, visit conference.calvarychapel.com
Jun 02, 202235:14
What is Gospel Culture and How is It Developed?

What is Gospel Culture and How is It Developed?

Tim Chaddick is the Pastor for Preaching at Reality Ventura and Founding Pastor of Reality Church London and Reality LA. A native to California, Tim's first ten years of church-planting ministry started as the Lead Pastor of Reality LA in 2006, a thriving church in the heart of Hollywood, before planting Reality London in the UK in 2016. In 2021, Tim returned to California to take up the Pastor for Preaching role at Reality Ventura. In this episode we talk about culture in general, and "gospel culture" specifically. What is "gospel culture" and how is it developed amongst a group of people, whether that be a church, a family, a staff, or elsewhere?  Tim and I will both be speaking at the Calvary Chapel / CGN International Conference in Orange County, California, June 26-29. More information and registration can be found here at conference.calvarychapel.com Tim's first two books, Better: How Jesus Satisfies the Search for Meaning and The Truth about Lies, were projects which came from lessons learned while living and pastoring in urban areas. Pastor Tim and his wife Lindsey care deeply about the ministry of the local church and seek to devote themselves to helping churches begin and flourish in their mission to share and reflect the gospel.
May 26, 202249:02
What is Your Soul and How Can It Flourish? - with Dominic Done

What is Your Soul and How Can It Flourish? - with Dominic Done

Dominic Done is a pastor and author based out of Colorado Springs, where he leads a ministry called Pursuing Faith. Dominic has served as Professor of Applied Theology at George Fox University, lead pastor of Westside: A Jesus Church in Portland, Oregon. He has a Master’s Degree in Theology from the University of Oxford and is currently working on his PhD at the University of Oxford under Alister McGrath.  He has written two books. His first book, When Faith Fails: Finding God in the Shadow of Doubt, addresses the topics of doubt and deconstruction. His latest book, Your Longing Has a Name: Come Alive to the Story You Were Made For, was just released this year. Dominic was recently a guest on Unbelievable? in which he debated with an atheist philosopher on the origin of virtues.  For more information about the Calvary Global Network (CGN) conference taking place in Costa Mesa, CA from June 26-29, at which Dominic will be speaking, visit conference.calvarychapel.com
May 19, 202233:20
Fasting Q&A: Eating Disorders & Alternative Forms of Fasting

Fasting Q&A: Eating Disorders & Alternative Forms of Fasting

In this Bonus Episode, Conor Berry and I discuss some questions we received regarding our previous episode on fasting: Can you fast from things other than food? What about people who have present or past eating disorders? Can they, or should they fast? Conor also mentions another resource in this episode on the topic of feasting: The Supper of the Lamb by Robert Capon If you find this episode interesting or helpful, please share it with others and leave a rating and review on your podcast app, as that helps other people discover this podcast and its content. Make sure to visit the Theology for the People blog at nickcady.org 
May 09, 202215:09
The Purpose and Power of Fasting - with Conor Berry

The Purpose and Power of Fasting - with Conor Berry

Conor Berry is the Lead Pastor of Calvary Chapel Santa Maria on the Central Coast of California.  In this episode we discuss what the Bible has to say about fasting. What is the purpose of fasting? How does it work? What is the relationship between fasting and prayer, and what is the "reward" of fasting mentioned by Jesus in Matthew 6:16? We seek to answer these questions with consideration of how Christians throughout history have understood fasting, and by looking at a few modern resources as well. Books referenced in this episode: A Hunger for God by John Piper Fasting by Scot McKnight (Ancient Practices Series) If you find this episode interesting or helpful, please share it with others and leave a rating and review on your podcast app, as that helps other people discover this podcast and its content. Make sure to visit the Theology for the People blog at nickcady.org
May 05, 202244:48
Cultivate: Church Planter Training Program - with Kellen Criswell

Cultivate: Church Planter Training Program - with Kellen Criswell

This episode was originally published on the Calvary Global Network (CGN) Mission and Methods Podcast.  Calvary Chapel has been recognized as one of the greatest church planting movements of recent times. In this episode, I speak with Kellen Criswell, Global Strategist for Calvary Global Network about a program I have been involved in developing called "Cultivate," which is a program designed to assess, train, and deploy new church planters and missionaries — using the local church as the garden in which those leaders are cultivated. We explain the design and heart behind the Cultivate program, as well as how to get more information and register. If you find this episode interesting or helpful, please share it with others and leave a rating and review on your podcast app, as that helps other people discover this podcast and its content. Make sure to visit the Theology for the People blog at nickcady.org
Apr 28, 202240:35
Wealth, Poverty & the Bible: How Do Finances Relate to Faith?

Wealth, Poverty & the Bible: How Do Finances Relate to Faith?

Mason Mortimer is a graduate of Calvary Chapel Bible College and has worked in the financial services industry for 17 years. In this episode we discuss what the Bible has to say about money, wealth, and poverty. How should we think biblically about financial matters, including investments and retirement? We discuss how Christians have related to money historically, such as those who take vows of poverty. Finally, Mason gives us some very practical advice about stewardship, investment, and financial planning. If you find this episode interesting or helpful, please share it with others and leave a rating and review on your podcast app, as that helps other people discover this podcast and its content. Make sure to visit the Theology for the People blog at nickcady.org
Apr 21, 202254:03
Palm Sunday Points Us to the Heart of the Gospel

Palm Sunday Points Us to the Heart of the Gospel

Did you know that as Jesus was entering Jerusalem on Palm Sunday, as the crowds were cheering - he was crying? That's what Luke's Gospel tells us. Why was Jesus crying during this momentous event, and what does it mean for our lives today? This week is Holy Week, when we remember and celebrate the events of Jesus' life which happened in the week leading up to his crucifixion and resurrection. For this occasion, we have a shorter episode, reflecting on how Palm Sunday points us to the heart of the gospel. This episode is also available as a blog post: http://nickcady.org/2022/04/10/palm-sunday-points-us-to-the-heart-of-the-gospel/
Apr 14, 202208:27
How Does Understanding Biblical Genres Affect How We Interpret and Teach Passages in the Bible?

How Does Understanding Biblical Genres Affect How We Interpret and Teach Passages in the Bible?

In this episode, I speak with Kristie Anyabwile, who recently wrote a book called, Literarily: How Understanding Bible Genres Transforms Bible Study.  We discuss the difference between interpreting the Bible "literally" and interpreting it "literarily," i.e. according to the genre of a given passage. Kristie describes the 8 major literary genres found in the Bible, and their unique aspects. We give a few examples of how not taking genre into account can lead to misinterpretation and misapplication of particular texts. Kristie is married to Pastor Thabiti Anyabwile and they serve at Anacostia River Church in Washington D.C. For more about Kristie, visit her website: kristieanyabwile.com. Also mentioned this episode are: Charles Simeon Trust The Pelican Project If you find this episode interesting or helpful, please share it with others and leave a rating and review on your podcast app, as that helps other people discover this podcast and its content. Make sure to visit the Theology for the People blog at nickcady.org
Apr 07, 202242:53
Does Christianity Create Hateful People? - with Aaron Salvato

Does Christianity Create Hateful People? - with Aaron Salvato

In this episode Aaron Salvato interviews Nick Cady about how hypocrisy can be a barrier to people embracing Christianity, and what the solution is to this problem.  In Nick's recent book, The God I Won't Believe In: Facing Nine Common Barriers to Embracing Christianity, one of the chapters addresses the question of how Christianity can be true if many of its adherents are hypocritical or hateful. Can this be blamed on Christianity itself? Or is there another explanation? Either way, it certainly hurts our witness, so we, if anything, should or can be done about it?  Originally aired on the GoodLion Podcast, this episode is a collaboration with our friends over there, who also run the GoodLion Podcast Network, which is part of Calvary Global Network. If you find this episode interesting or helpful, please share it with others and leave a rating and review on your podcast app, as that helps other people discover this podcast and its content. Make sure to visit the Theology for the People blog at nickcady.org 
Mar 31, 202201:10:30
Does the Ascension Deserve More Attention? - Why Does Jesus' Ascension Matter for the Gospel and for Us?

Does the Ascension Deserve More Attention? - Why Does Jesus' Ascension Matter for the Gospel and for Us?

In this episode, Nick Cady and Michael Payne discuss Jesus' ascension into Heaven and why it matters for the gospel and for us.  Is the ascension simply something that happened, which we acknowledge, or did it actually accomplish something which could not have happened otherwise? How did the early Christians and the Church Fathers understand the ascension? What difference should the ascension make for our lives today? If you find this episode interesting or helpful, please share it with others and leave a rating and review on your podcast app, as that helps other people discover this podcast and its content. Make sure to visit the Theology for the People blog at nickcady.org
Mar 24, 202236:39
The True Story of Saint Patrick of Ireland - with Shane Angland, MDiv from Ennis, Ireland

The True Story of Saint Patrick of Ireland - with Shane Angland, MDiv from Ennis, Ireland

March 17 is St. Patrick's Day. What is the true story of St. Patrick? Shane Angland (MDiv, Dallas Theological Seminary) joins the podcast today to help us know the difference between what is myth and what is historically true when it comes to St. Patrick. Did Patrick really drive the snakes out of Ireland? Did he face off with druids? Did he use the shamrock as a teaching tool to explain the Trinity? Shane explains how we can know the difference between what is true about Patrick and what is fable, and how the true story of Patrick is much better than the legends. Here is a link to the article Shane wrote, which is mentioned in this episode: St. Patrick, Grey Wolves, and the Cimbid King If you find this episode interesting or helpful, please share it with others and leave a rating and review on your podcast app, as that helps other people discover this podcast and its content. Make sure to visit the Theology for the People blog at nickcady.org
Mar 17, 202247:20
The Russian Invasion of Ukraine: How to Help & How to Pray - with George Markey

The Russian Invasion of Ukraine: How to Help & How to Pray - with George Markey

Recorded in Budapest, Hungary this week with Pastor George Markey of Kyiv, Ukraine, originally for KWAVE Radio in Southern California. George has lived in Ukraine for the past 30 years, and is the overseer for Calvary Chapel churches in Ukraine.  In this episode, George shares his perspective on what is going on as Russia is attacking Ukraine, as well as stories of how God is working in the midst of it.  We also discuss needs, what is currently being done, and how you can get involved and help. Finally, George shares how he personally prays for Ukraine right now. Please share this episode with others, subscribe to the podcast, and check out the Theology for the People blog at nickcady.org
Mar 10, 202228:38
Did the Reformation Reach the East? The Surprising History of Cyril Lucaris and Eastern Orthodoxy's Reaction to the Reformation - with Shane Angland

Did the Reformation Reach the East? The Surprising History of Cyril Lucaris and Eastern Orthodoxy's Reaction to the Reformation - with Shane Angland

Many people assume that the Protestant Reformation was something that only affected the Western, or Roman Catholic Church, but in this episode, Shane Angland (Mdiv, Dallas Theological Seminary) shares the incredible story of how the Reformation reached the East.  Shane explains how Martin Luther actually referred to the Eastern Orthodox churches as examples of Christianity which were not subject to the dictates of Roman papal authority, and he tells the story of Cyril Lucaris, the Greek Orthodox theologian and patriarch of Constantinople, who was highly influenced by the Reformation and its principles. Shane Angland resides in Ennis, Ireland. He spent years working in Ukraine as a missionary with IFES and serving in a Calvary Chapel church in the city of Kharkiv, before going to Dallas for seminary. At the end of the episode, listen for a preview of my forthcoming book, The God I Won't Believe In: Facing Nine Common Barriers to Embracing Christianity.  Visit the Theology for the People blog site for articles and more.
Feb 24, 202251:28
Book Release Announcement & Preview - The God I Won't Believe In: Facing Nine Common Barriers to Embracing Christianity

Book Release Announcement & Preview - The God I Won't Believe In: Facing Nine Common Barriers to Embracing Christianity

Nick wrote a book! It's coming out March 6, 2022 and is available for pre-order on Amazon here. The book is titled, The God I Won't Believe In: Facing Nine Common Barriers to Embracing Christianity.  In this episode, Nick sits down with Michael Payne and Curt Fuller, who edited the book, the discuss how the book came about, who it's for, and what it's about. Make sure to visit the Theology for the People blog at nickcady.org for more articles and content.
Feb 17, 202227:52
The Relationship Between Clergy & Congregation + Study & the Spirit - with Dr. Roy Collins

The Relationship Between Clergy & Congregation + Study & the Spirit - with Dr. Roy Collins

Dr. Roy Collins returns as a guest to the podcast to share his difficult experiences as a young pastor, and how they have led to the dual conclusions that a congregation has a responsibility to a pastor, both to train and to support them, and that a person in ministry has a responsibility to pursue ongoing training in order to stir up the gifts that God has placed within them, so they can serve people well.  In this episode, Dr. Collins speaks candidly about some of his experiences, and Nick shares some current training initiatives that can help provide support for the very areas which Dr. Collins addresses as being needs. For more information on these programs, visit: Expositors Collective Cultivate church planter training program Visit the Theology for the People website for more information and articles.
Feb 10, 202247:44
Adoption, the Gospel, and Practical Theology - with Nate Medlong

Adoption, the Gospel, and Practical Theology - with Nate Medlong

Nate Medlong is a pastor and missionary in Kharkiv, Ukraine. He and his wife Diana have fostered and adopted several children, and in this episode Nate and I discuss how adoption is a picture of the gospel. Not only is adoption a picture of the gospel, and the practice of adopting children is an outworking of the gospel, but we discuss how parenting adopted children helps a person to grow in their understanding of and appreciation for what God has done for us in Christ, by making us his children and adopting us into his family. Make sure to check out the Theology for the People website as well for more content.
Feb 03, 202236:57
Season 2 Trailer and Preview

Season 2 Trailer and Preview

It's been a minute since the last episode of the Theology for the People podcast dropped. That's because we're currently in the process of recording episodes for Season 2 which will be released over the next several months. Some of the topics we will be discussing this year include: How Adoption is a Picture of the Gospel Why the Ascension is More Important than You Might Think Did the Reformation Reach the East? Orthodox Churches and the Protestant Reformation The True Story of St. Patrick of Ireland What is Deconstruction, and How Should We Respond? And more! Also, stay tuned for more information about my upcoming book: I Could Never Believe In...: Responding to 9 of the Most Difficult Questions for Christianity. More information about the book and its release coming soon. Thanks for listening, and keep an eye on your podcast app for new episodes coming soon! If you'd like to suggest a topic for the podcast, you can do so here: https://nickcady.org/ask-a-question-or-suggest-a-topic/
Jan 13, 202201:07
Missional Ecclesiology: What is the role of the church in the mission of God? - with Kellen Criswell

Missional Ecclesiology: What is the role of the church in the mission of God? - with Kellen Criswell

Kellen Criswell is a pastor, ministry leader, and former missionary who holds and MA in Global Leadership from Western Seminary and is currently working on his doctorate. He is the Executive Director of Calvary Global Network and has a heart for the mission of God and the global church. In this episode we discuss Missional Ecclesiology, which is a way of understanding the identity, purpose, and function of the church within the Missio Dei (mission of God). Ecclesiology is the discussion of what the Church is called to be and to do - including its nature, purpose, hopes, structures, and practices.  We discuss how this concept works out practically, including a discussion of "foreign missions" and how they fit into this understanding. Furthermore, we discuss what the past nearly two years of pandemic has revealed about ecclesiology, and why there is hope as we move forward. Bibliography and recommended resources: Hirsch, Alan. The Forgotten Ways: Reactivating Apostolic Movements. Goheen, Michael. The Church and it’s Vocation: Leslie Newbigin’s Missionary Ecclesiology.  Stetzer, Ed. Planting Missional Churches: Your Guide to Starting Churches that Multiply. Newbigin, Leslie. The Gospel in a Pluralist Society.  Van Engen, Charles. Transforming Mission Theology.  Wright, Christopher J.H.. The Mission of God: Unlocking the Bible’s Grand Narrative. Bosch, David. Transforming Mission: Paradigm Shifts in Theology of Mission.  Hooker, Paul. "What is Missional Ecclesiology?"  Make sure to check out the Theology for the People blog at nickcady.org
Nov 19, 202156:38
What Has Athens to Do with Jerusalem?: How Should Christians Relate to Ideas and Practices Which Originate Outside of Christianity?

What Has Athens to Do with Jerusalem?: How Should Christians Relate to Ideas and Practices Which Originate Outside of Christianity?

In this episode Nick Cady and Michael Payne speak about how Christians should relate to things which originate outside of Christianity, such as yoga, psychology, Christmas, drums, or rock music.  This discussion can be traced all the way back to a historical argument between Tertullian and Justin Martyr which can be summarized by Tertullian's classic question: "What Has Athens to Do with Jerusalem?" Visit the Theology for the People blog site at nickcady.org - where you can ask questions or submit suggestions for future episodes.
Nov 12, 202142:30
Reformation Day: Martin Luther, the Bible, & the Gospel

Reformation Day: Martin Luther, the Bible, & the Gospel

This episode is also available as a blog post: http://nickcady.org/2021/10/29/reformation-day-martin-luther-the-bible-the-gospel/
Oct 30, 202107:24
Navigating Issues of Christian Liberty without Legalism or Licentiousness - with David Guzik

Navigating Issues of Christian Liberty without Legalism or Licentiousness - with David Guzik

Pastor and author David Guzik joins the podcast this week to talk about the topic of Christian liberty.  How do we make sense of "gray areas," things like drinking alcohol, tattoos, smoking tobacco, music choices, etc. about which some Christians have strong convictions that Christians should never do those things, whereas others feel that they can enjoy these things in moderation without any conflict with their fidelity to following Jesus? How do we honor one another without being held hostage by every person's personal whim? David helps shed some light on these and other questions related to this topic. David is the author of a free online commentary of the entire Bible which can be found at EnduringWord.com, along with the audio and video archives of David's teachings through books of the Bible. Make sure to check out his weekly Q&A sessions on his YouTube Channel, Thursdays at 12:00 PM Pacific. Visit the Theology for the People blog at nickcady.org, where you can submit questions or suggest topics for articles or future podcast episodes.
Oct 28, 202135:45
General vs. Specific Revelation: How Do We Know What We Know About God? - with Gino Geraci

General vs. Specific Revelation: How Do We Know What We Know About God? - with Gino Geraci

Is it true that "all truth is God's truth"? What does it mean when the Bible talks about a "mystery" that has been revealed? This week Gino Geraci joins the podcast once again to discuss the topic of "revelation," and the question of how we know what we know about God, including His will for us, our lives, and the world.  The Bible talks about two specific kinds of revelation: general and specific. In this podcast we give some examples of each and answer questions like: Does one have greater value than the other? What are the benefits of each, and what, if any, limitations do these different forms of revelation carry? In last week's episode, we talked about what it means that we are created in the "image of God" and what the implications would be if we were not created in God's image. That discussion ended with a comment that the doctrine of the Imago Dei (Image of God) hinges on the question of revelation. In this episode we delve into that question.  Check out the Theology for the People blog, and find Pastor Nick's sermons on the White Fields Church podcast and whitefieldschurch.com 
Oct 21, 202130:32
Imago Dei: What Does It Mean that We are Created in the "Image of God"? - with Gino Geraci

Imago Dei: What Does It Mean that We are Created in the "Image of God"? - with Gino Geraci

Gino Geraci is a pastor, Bible teacher, and syndicated radio show host. He is the founding pastor of Calvary South Denver in Littleton, Colorado, from which he recently retired and is now focusing fully on his radio and online ministries. In this episode, Gino and Nick speak about what it means when the Bible tells us that we, as human beings, have been created in the image of God (Imago Dei in Latin). What are some of the implications of this doctrine as relates to the value of human life, and what would be the implications if this were not true? You can find Gino's teachings on his website: ginogeraci.com. His radio show can be heard here: Crosswalk with Gino Geraci, and make sure to check out the other ministry he works with: gotquestions.org
Oct 14, 202126:21
Making Sense of Bible Translations - with Shane Angland

Making Sense of Bible Translations - with Shane Angland

Shane Angland (MA Theology, Dallas Theological Seminary), joins the podcast to talk about Bible translations and what makes some translations better than others. Shane is the lead preaching elder at Ennis Evangelical Church in Ennis, Ireland. A native of the west coast of Ireland, Shane served as a missionary in Ukraine with the International Fellowship of Evangelical Students, and later earned a Masters Degree from Dallas Theological Seminary, where the focus of his studies was on Textual Criticism. In this episode, Shane explains what Textual Criticism is (and is not), and explains the important elements involved in Bible translation, such as translation philosophy and source documents. He also dispels some common misconceptions about Bible translations, such as that newer translations remove content from the Bible, or that they are less accurate than older translations. If you’ve benefited from this episode, please share it online, and leave a rating and review for this podcast in the Apple Podcast store. Also, visit the Theology for the People Blog at nickcady.org.
Oct 07, 202155:49
Christ-Centered Hermeneutics - Part 2: Responding to Objections to Christ-Centered Hermeneutics - with Mike Neglia

Christ-Centered Hermeneutics - Part 2: Responding to Objections to Christ-Centered Hermeneutics - with Mike Neglia

This week Nick Cady and Mike Neglia respond to some objections to Christ-centered hermeneutics. Is Christ-centered hermeneutics actually ego-centric, in that it focuses on what Jesus has done for “me’? Does Christocentricity fail to honor the trinitarian nature of God by focusing primarily on the Son? Does it fail to teach what the text actually says in an attempt to make every message about Jesus? Nick and Mike respond to these, and other questions in this episode, which is Part 2 of a 2-part series on Christ-Centered Hermeneutics. In Part 1, we laid the foundation for what Christ-Centered Hermeneutics is, and whether it is a true and faithful way to read the Bible. Mike Neglia is the lead pastor of Calvary Cork in Ireland and he is the host of the Expositors Collective Podcast, which has an incredible line-up of guests, with interviews to help you grow in your private study and your public proclamation of God's Word. Resources mentioned in this episode: Fred Sanders, The Deep Things of God (Second Edition)
Oct 01, 202101:00:53
Christ-Centered Hermeneutics - Part 1: Is it a stretch to say that everything in the Bible points to Jesus? - with Mike Neglia

Christ-Centered Hermeneutics - Part 1: Is it a stretch to say that everything in the Bible points to Jesus? - with Mike Neglia

Mike Neglia, lead pastor of Calvary Cork in Cork, Ireland joins the podcast this week to talk about Christ-centered hermeneutics: the idea that the Bible is a book about Jesus, and therefore everything in Scripture ultimately points to Jesus is some way.  What are "hermeneutics" and is it really accurate to view the Bible in this way? Furthermore, we will discuss if this way of looking at the Bible is actually helpful to the reader of the Bible or the listener of a sermon. Mike and Nick are both on the steering committee of Expositors Collective, a group that seeks to collaborate in order to raise up the next generation of expository preachers and teachers of God's Word, and Mike is the host of the Expositors Collective Podcast, which has an incredible line-up of guests, with interviews to help you grow in your private study and your public proclamation of God's Word. Resources mentioned in this episode: Christ-Centered Preaching online course Center-Church (Timothy Keller) Preaching (Timothy Keller) Preaching to a Post-Everything World (Zack Eswine)
Sep 23, 202101:02:14
Biblical Interpretation with Dr. Roy Collins: Guidelines for Correctly Understanding & Faithfully Applying God's Word

Biblical Interpretation with Dr. Roy Collins: Guidelines for Correctly Understanding & Faithfully Applying God's Word

Dr. Roy Collins (DMin) has served as a pastor, consultant, and professor of theology at Colorado Christian University, where he taught Biblical Interpretation. In this episode, Dr. Roy shares with us the key to unlocking the meaning of any given passage of the Bible, as well as a 5-step system of guidelines for how to exegete a given passage. The books recommended in this episode by Dr. Collins are:  Grasping God's Word: A Hands-On Approach to Reading, Interpreting, and Applying the Bible, by Duvall & Hays The Gospel and Kingdom, by Graeme Goldsworthy Dr. Collins leads a Bible study through the Gospel of Mark on Sunday mornings at 8:00 AM (Mountain Time) at White Fields Community Church in Longmont, Colorado. Check out the Theology for the People blog site, and please leave a review on your podcast app if you've benefited from this content.
Aug 26, 202136:54
Contextualization: How to Translate the Message Without Changing It - A Conversation with Benjamin Morrison Discussing Ministry in Eastern Europe

Contextualization: How to Translate the Message Without Changing It - A Conversation with Benjamin Morrison Discussing Ministry in Eastern Europe

In this episode Nick Cady sits down with Benjamin Morrison, pastor of Calvary Chapel Svitlovodsk, Ukraine, as well as the coordinator for City to City Ukraine and a member of the leadership of City to City Europe, to discussion cross-cultural ministry and the topic of contextualization. When we "contextualize" the gospel, or any other biblical message, do we run the risk of changing it? What is the goal and purpose of contextualization, and how can we be sure that we are doing it well, without watering down the message on the one hand, nor adding unbiblical elements on the other?  In this episode Ben and I share stories from our experiences in Eastern Europe, where I served for 10 years in Hungary, and where Ben has served for 19 years in Ukraine. Check out the Expositors Collective Training Weekend in Colorado Springs (Sept. 17-18, 2021) at expositorscollective.com, and check out the Expositors Collective Podcast here. You can find the Theology for the People Blog at nickcady.org and the White Fields Community Church podcast here.
Aug 19, 202136:38
Hermeneutics: How Do We Correctly Interpret What the Bible Says? - with Benjamin Morrison & Craig Babcock

Hermeneutics: How Do We Correctly Interpret What the Bible Says? - with Benjamin Morrison & Craig Babcock

In this episode Nick Cady and special co-host Craig Babcock speak with Benjamin Morrison, lead pastor of Calvary Chapel Svitlovodsk, Ukraine and coordinator for City to City Ukraine, about the topic of hermeneutics: the interpretation of texts, particularly the Bible. Hermeneutics and biblical interpretation is the focus of Ben's masters studies at London School of Theology, Nick's alma mater.  What is hermeneutics, and why is it important? Can't we just read the Bible without having to worry about interpretation? As Ben shows us, everyone who reads the Bible has a hermeneutics and we are all interpreters, the question is: are you a good and faithful interpreter of the biblical text? If, as Ben points out, not all hermeneutics are equally good, then how can we determine which ones are better than others and how do we identify our own hermeneutics in order to examine whether they are good or not? We discuss these questions in this episode.
Aug 12, 202141:14
A Theology of Music: with Jon Markey & Michael Payne

A Theology of Music: with Jon Markey & Michael Payne

Michael Payne and Jon Markey are accomplished musicians, songwriters, and producers, and in this episode they talk with Nick about the theology of music. Listen in to this discussion of what the Bible has to say about music: its purpose, uses, and significance - including the "song of creation," Jubal, and practical discussions for today. Check out Jon's ministry: Room for More music on YouTube and his church: Calvary Chapel Ternopil (Ukraine) Check out Michael on Spotify: Michael Payne and you can watch him on the White Fields Community Church YouTube page. The book mentioned in this episode is Scribbling in the Sand: Christ and Creativity by Michael Card Visit the Theology for the People blog.
Aug 05, 202157:18
Will God Remove the Holy Spirit from a Person Because of Disobedience?

Will God Remove the Holy Spirit from a Person Because of Disobedience?

This episode is also available as a blog post: http://nickcady.org/2021/07/23/will-god-remove-the-holy-spirit-from-a-person-because-of-disobedience/ The sermons referenced in the episode can be found here:  The Promised Helper The Work of the Holy Spirit in the Life of a Believer The entire Spirit-Filled Life sermon series can be found here: The Spirit-Filled Life
Jul 29, 202111:55
Theological Method: Sources of Theology and Why People Arrive at Different Conclusions About Matters of Faith and the Bible

Theological Method: Sources of Theology and Why People Arrive at Different Conclusions About Matters of Faith and the Bible

In this episode, Nick and Mike discuss the topic of "theological method", which involves the study of how people arrive at theological conclusions based on how they use the "sources of theology" in relation to each other. We discuss the 5 commonly recognized sources of theology, explain different theological methods that exist, and how they relate to interpreting the Bible in light of our ever-changing world. Check out the Theology for the People blog site at nickcady.org
Jul 23, 202131:60
Wayne Taylor: Charismatic Christianity & the Bible

Wayne Taylor: Charismatic Christianity & the Bible

Pastor Wayne Taylor has a long history as a leader in the Calvary Chapel movement; he founded Calvary Fellowship in Seattle, Washington, where he served as lead pastor for 42 years. Under his leadership, 55 churches were planted out of Calvary Fellowship, both in the Pacific Northwest and abroad. Wayne now serves on the executive leadership team of Calvary Global Network. In this week's episode, Wayne and I discuss what it means to be "charismatic." We discuss the origin of the word, arguments for and against charismatic practices, as well as John MacArthur, theological method, Calvary Chapel, and our own personal experiences and biases. Follow Pastor Wayne on Facebook, and check out the Theology for the People blog. The sermon series from White Fields Church on the Holy Spirit can be found here: The Spirit-Filled Life.
Jun 29, 202139:04
The Perspicuity of Scripture: Is the Bible Clear? Can Everyone Understand It?

The Perspicuity of Scripture: Is the Bible Clear? Can Everyone Understand It?

Can anyone pick up the Bible, read it and understand it? Is Scripture "clear," and if it is: about what and for whom is it clear? I wrote my Masters dissertation on the topic of the perspicuity, or clarity, of Scripture. This is an important topic, because whether or not we view Scripture as clear affects how we handle and use the Bible and how we relate to church traditions, and how we view the world in the midst of a culture in which many long-held beliefs and assumptions are being challenged. In this episode, Nick and Mike discuss the concept of the perspicuity of Scripture, looking at the history of this concept and what is at stake in this debate.  For more articles and content, make sure to check out the Theology for the People website.
Jun 18, 202134:54
Is the Book of Esther Fictional? Does it Really Belong in the Bible?

Is the Book of Esther Fictional? Does it Really Belong in the Bible?

Did you know that the Book of Esther never mentions God? Or that whereas almost every Old Testament book is quoted in the New Testament, the Book of Esther is not? Or that the Dead Sea Scrolls contained copies of every Old Testament book except the Book of Esther? So then, does Esther belong in the Bible? In this episode I will explain why it was included in the Bible, and why it belongs there. This episode is also available as a blog post: http://nickcady.org/2018/08/15/is-the-book-of-esther-fictional-does-it-really-belong-in-the-bible/
Jun 10, 202110:60
The Formation of the New Testament Canon: Part 2 - Recognition, Disputes & the Gospel of Thomas

The Formation of the New Testament Canon: Part 2 - Recognition, Disputes & the Gospel of Thomas

In Part 2 of this two-part series, Nick and Mike discuss the process through which the New Testament was recognized as Holy Scripture. At what point were the books of the New Testament recognized as Scripture? Who was involved in that process, or who made that determination? What about the disputed books, and why was the Gospel of Thomas kept out of the Bible? We answer these questions and more in this episode. Make sure to check out the Theology for the People blog as well.
Jun 03, 202137:31
The Formation of the New Testament Canon: Part 1 - Nicaea, Constantine, & Conspiracy Theories

The Formation of the New Testament Canon: Part 1 - Nicaea, Constantine, & Conspiracy Theories

In Part 1 of this two-part episode, Nick and Mike discuss some common misnomers and conspiracy theories regarding the formation of the New Testament canon. What happened in Nicaea? Did Constantine play a role in the formation of the New Testament canon? If so, is there anything we should be concerned about? Check out the Theology for the People blog as well. 
May 27, 202117:51
If "It's All Gonna Burn" Then What's the Point? - How the Resurrection Gives Meaning to Work & Art

If "It's All Gonna Burn" Then What's the Point? - How the Resurrection Gives Meaning to Work & Art

In this episode I'm joined by Pastor Jon Markey from Ternopil, Ukraine. Along with being a pastor and missionary, Jon is a musician and producer. We discuss how the resurrection infuses our lives, including our work and art, with meaning and purpose. Sometimes people have the idea that if the world is going to burn anyway, then there is no point in trying to invest time and energy into work or art in this world; it would simply be akin to hanging curtains in a house that is on fire. However, as Jon and I discuss, Jesus' resurrection changes that story in a big way. Check out Jon and Steffie's work at Room for More: Instagram YouTube 
May 21, 202144:21
Zombies in the Bible? Why Did the Dead Come Out of Their Graves and Walk Around When Jesus Died?

Zombies in the Bible? Why Did the Dead Come Out of Their Graves and Walk Around When Jesus Died?

In Matthew 27:52-53 it says that when Jesus died, "The tombs also were opened. And many bodies of the saints who had fallen asleep were raised, and coming out of the tombs after his resurrection they went into the holy city and appeared to many." Why did this happen? And what happened to these "walking dead": did they ascend into Heaven with Jesus, or did they die again at a later date? What was the meaning and significance of this? You can find more articles and content, as well as a place to submit questions or suggest topics at the Theology for the People blog site.
May 12, 202111:53
Did People Go to Heaven Before Jesus’ Death & Resurrection?

Did People Go to Heaven Before Jesus’ Death & Resurrection?

This episode is also available as a blog post: http://nickcady.org/2019/02/15/did-people-go-to-heaven-before-jesus-death-resurrection/
May 05, 202111:31
What are “Winds & Waves of Doctrine,” and How Can We Recognize Them?

What are “Winds & Waves of Doctrine,” and How Can We Recognize Them?

In this episode Nick and Mike discuss what it means in Ephesians 4:14 where the Apostle Paul talks about “winds and waves of doctrine.” What are they? How do we recognize them before it’s too late? And how do we avoid being carried away by them? Along with some examples of winds and waves in the recent past, we discuss the “deeper things” of Christianity: what many people mean when they use that phrase and what the deepest things are in reality. Also visit the Theology for the People blog.
Apr 30, 202134:17
Why Does God Judge Some People More Harshly Than Others?

Why Does God Judge Some People More Harshly Than Others?

Why is it that in the Bible, sometimes God punishes some people severely for their sins, but other people receive no punishment for similar actions? Responding to a question that was submitted here: Theology for the People: Ask a Question or Suggest a Topic, about why God judges some people more harshly than others in the Bible. Examples of this are with Michal (the wife of David) and Uzzah in 2 Samuel 6, the story of the two prophets in 1 Kings 13, and Ananias and Sapphira in Acts 5. This principle can be seen in our lives today, where some people do evil things and seem to suffer no consequences, and in some cases succeed as a result, whereas many who endeavor to lead a godly life don't succeed or even suffer. David asked this same question in the Psalms because of what he experienced in his own life. In this episode, three important considerations are brought up to help understand this dynamic.
Apr 22, 202117:08
Does God Hate Religion?

Does God Hate Religion?

In this episode Nick and Mike discuss what the Bible has to say about religion and how God feels about it. Is religion opposed to relationship with Jesus? What is "religion" anyway - and is Christianity a religion or not? We look at uses of the word "religion" in the Bible, as well as passages like Isaiah 1 and Amos 5. We also examine Jefferson Bethke's spoken word YouTube video: "Why I hate religion but love Jesus," as well as a New York Times article about popular views on religion - along with biblical examples from Jesus, the apostles, and the New Testament church.
Apr 16, 202137:39
Podcast Exclusive - Church: An (un)Necessary Evil?

Podcast Exclusive - Church: An (un)Necessary Evil?

In this episode Nick and Mike discuss a comment that came in to the Theology for the People blog claiming that church is only good for "becoming robotized, lobotomized, Romanized, and institutionalized," and is "pointless for knowing Jesus Christ personally." This comment represents a not-uncommon attitude to "organized religion" in general and church in particular. This episode includes discussions about the Bible, Jesus, American history, and Henry David Thoreau. The book recommended in this episode is The Bible in America: Essays in Cultural History 
Apr 09, 202138:29
“Preaching” or “Sharing”?

“Preaching” or “Sharing”?

This episode is also available as a blog post: http://nickcady.org/2019/10/16/preaching-or-sharing/
Apr 06, 202106:47
Was Jesus in the Grave Three Days and Three Nights? Here’s How It Adds Up

Was Jesus in the Grave Three Days and Three Nights? Here’s How It Adds Up

This episode is also available as a blog post: http://nickcady.org/2017/04/17/was-jesus-in-the-grave-three-days-and-three-nights-heres-how-it-adds-up/
Mar 31, 202108:14
Does Easter Come From Ishtar?

Does Easter Come From Ishtar?

This episode is also available as a blog post: http://nickcady.org/2018/04/12/does-easter-come-from-ishtar/
Mar 30, 202107:12
The Gospel of Caesar Augustus, & What It Tells Us About the Gospel of Jesus Christ

The Gospel of Caesar Augustus, & What It Tells Us About the Gospel of Jesus Christ

This episode is also available as a blog post: http://nickcady.org/2019/01/09/the-gospel-of-caesar-augustus-what-it-tells-us-about-the-gospel-of-jesus-christ/
Mar 25, 202107:34
Why Did Jesus Tell Some People to Keep Quiet about His Miracles and Identity?

Why Did Jesus Tell Some People to Keep Quiet about His Miracles and Identity?

This episode is also available as a blog post: http://nickcady.org/2018/04/23/why-did-jesus-tell-some-people-to-keep-quiet-about-his-miracles-and-identity/
Mar 25, 202106:01
The Blind Men and the Elephant: The Problems with this Analogy about Religion

The Blind Men and the Elephant: The Problems with this Analogy about Religion

This episode is also available as a blog post: http://nickcady.org/2020/09/08/the-blind-men-and-the-elephant-the-problems-with-this-analogy-about-religion/
Mar 18, 202105:16
Did Jesus Heal a Centurion’s Same-Sex Partner?

Did Jesus Heal a Centurion’s Same-Sex Partner?

This episode is also available as a blog post: http://nickcady.org/2021/01/28/did-jesus-heal-a-centurions-same-sex-partner/
Mar 16, 202106:16
Was Jesus Racist? Why Did He Call a Gentile Woman a Dog?

Was Jesus Racist? Why Did He Call a Gentile Woman a Dog?

This episode is also available as a blog post: http://nickcady.org/2021/03/11/was-jesus-racist-why-did-he-call-a-gentile-woman-a-dog/
Mar 16, 202108:32